Into Chocolate

November 9, 2017

Into Chocolate

Earlier in my artist journey, you could often find me as a vendor at various local markets in the Fraser Valley. (Anybody love a good market?) I sold a selection of art cards, print reproductions, and some originals.

One delightful market that is still in operation today is the Fort Langley Village Farmers Market, which sets up shop Saturday mornings in the parking lot of St. Andrews United Church on Glover Road. If you're local to the region, definitely check it out! They are one of the better markets, with a great array of artisans.

One Saturday morning, the owner of Into Chocolates wandered into my booth. Into Chocolates is a family-owned and operated boutique chocolate shop located in the heart of Fort Langley. The owners, Delaine and Doug, are chocolatiers themselves, and also source tasty treats from around the world for their customers.

Drawn to the sketches I'd done of other local scenes from the region, Delaine asked if I would consider painting their storefront. Absolutely, I would! Street scenes are exactly the kind of subject matter I'm drawn to, and their storefront had a great colour palette and was so totally quaint! Yes, please!

Once the commission was completed and delivered, Delaine had the image reproduced into art cards to sell within their shop. What a great project!

Into Chocolate

View more posts